How to apply?

Visit the HiRadMat@SPS website and the MagNet@CERN website to apply for Transnational Access.

But first, check below if you are eligible.

Criteria of Eligibility for Transnational Access

EuCARD-2 and its participating institutions accept users within the Transnational Access Activity of the EU 7th Framework Programme. The Transnational Access Programme poses certain restrictions upon the eligibility of users, based on nationalities of group members and location of their home institutions. These restrictions are also subject to the Contract between the EuCARD Consortium and the EU, and are mandatory to all parties involved. The main criteria for eligibility are outlined below. Additional information can be obtained directly from the EU Cordis web site or from EuCARD-2.

Who is eligible?

Only research teams conducting their research in the Member States or Associated Countries are eligible to benefit from access to the infrastructure under the contract. The term "research team" means a group of one or more researchers not necessarily all coming from the same country.

To be eligible, a user group must satisfy the following conditions:

  • both the user group leader and the majority of the users must work in an institution established in a Member State or Associated State;
  • both the user group leader and the majority of the users must work in a country other than the country(ies) where the legal entity(ies) operating the infrastructure is(are) established; (Note: this condition is not applicable to HiRadMat and MagNet because CERN has the status of "International Organization". As a result users from France and Switzerland are eligible to apply, see Annex 3 pdf for more details.)
  • only research teams that are entitled to publish the results of their project performed at the facility in the open press may apply for access to a participating infrastructure.

Eligible countries outside the European Union:

  • Associated countries: Albania, Croatia, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey and Bosnia-Herzegovina (1 January 2009).

Further information about eligible countries outside the EU can be found here:

You are here